Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
'Abort trap' error
03-30-2010, 09:28
Post: #1
'Abort trap' error
Hi,

I tried using missfits for the first time. Although it seems to be properly installed, I get the 'Abort trap' error everytime i run it. This happens with any image / cube / multi-extension fits file and options I tried.

Any advice?

Thanks, --Chris


$ missfits

MissFITS Version 2.2.11 (2010-03-29)

For information, please contact:
Chiara MARMO <marmo@iap.fr> & Emmanuel BERTIN <bertin@iap.fr>

> SYNTAX: missfits image1 [image2 ...][@image_list1 [@image_list2 ...]]
[-c <configuration_file>][-<keyword> <value>]
> to dump a default configuration file: missfits -d
> to dump a default extended configuration file: missfits -dd


$ missfits image.fits

> WARNING: default.missfits not found, using internal defaults

----- MissFITS 2.2.11 started on 2010-03-30 at 10:25:03 with 1 thread

>
Abort trap
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-30-2010, 10:11
Post: #2
RE: 'Abort trap' error
Dear Chris,
I cannot reproduce your 'Abort trap' on a 64bit linux/fedora system, even using the rpm or compiling the source.
Could you tell me which system you are working on?
Thank you,
Chiara.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-30-2010, 10:14 (This post was last modified: 03-30-2010 10:17 by Chris.)
Post: #3
RE: 'Abort trap' error
I am working on Mac OS X 10.6 and I installed missfits via macports:
$ port info missfits
missfits @2.2.11 (science)
Variants: universal

Description: MissFITS uses its own optimized library to perform basic maintenance and packaging tasks on FITS files. The operations include
adding/editing header keywords, splitting/joining multi-extension-FITS (MEF) files, packing/unpacking data cubes, and
calculating/manipulating FITS checksums. Its syntax is similar to that of other astromatic.net tools like sextractor and swarp.
Homepage: http://www.astromatic.net/software/missfits/

Platforms: darwin
License: CeCILL
Maintainers: tim@saao.ac.za
$ port installed missfits
The following ports are currently installed:
missfits @2.2.11_0 (active)



Thanks!
--Christoph
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-31-2010, 10:20
Post: #4
RE: 'Abort trap' error
I also manually installed missfits from the tarball. Same 'Abort trap' error as with the macports installed version.

In the meantime I installed missfits on a linux machine. There it works fine and I have to questions:

1) Is there a way to specify which hdu missfits should work on?
E.g. I have a file with five hdus and I want to slice the third one, which is a cube.

2) What are the correct options to slice a cube into a directory? I tried this, which doesn't produce any output files:

$ fstruct test.fits
No. Type EXTNAME BITPIX Dimensions(columns) PCOUNT GCOUNT

0 PRIMARY 32 360 20 7 0 1
$ alias missfits
alias missfits='missfits -write_xml n -new_suffix -save_type new'
$ missfits test.fits -outfile_type dir -split_suffix none

> WARNING: default.missfits not found, using internal defaults

----- MissFITS 2.2.11 started on 2010-03-31 at 11:16:59 with 1 thread

> Examining input data...

> WARNING: new cannot be loaded/expanded, skipping...
> All done (in 0 s)

Cheers, --Chris
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-31-2010, 13:11
Post: #5
RE: 'Abort trap' error
Hello Chris,
I have no Mac account yet: the 'abort trap' error will wait till I have one...

Quote:Is there a way to specify which hdu missfits should work on?
Nope. The only way is that you split the multi-extension file and then you slice the cube extension.

Quote:What are the correct options to slice a cube into a directory?
Code:
missfits cube.fits -OUTFILE_TYPE DIR -SAVE_TYPE NEW -SPLIT_SUFFIX NONE
works for me if the image is a cube or a MEF cube (every slice is a MEF).
Note that your error is:
Code:
> WARNING: new cannot be loaded/expanded, skipping...
It means that missfits looks for the image named 'new'.
I think you forget something in your alias definition...

Cheers,
Chiara.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-29-2010, 16:01
Post: #6
RE: 'Abort trap' error
The SVN version should work now (thanks to J.B. Marquette for giving me access to his Mac Pro). There was a bug that Valgrind would not catch on Linux. A new stable release will be done soon.
Thanks for reporting this problem!
- Emmanuel.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)